Summaries of proceedings against 13 HDP MPs submitted to Parliament

More summaries of proceedings against HDP deputies have been submitted to the Parliament seeking to lift their immunity.

A total of 16 new summaries of proceedings have been submitted to the Parliament seeking to revoke the parliamentary membership of 13 deputies of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (HDP).

The affected parliamentarians are: Democratic Society Congress (DTK) co-chair and Ağrı MP Berdan Öztürk, HDP co-chair Pervin Buldan (two motions), co-chairwoman of HDP member party DBP, Saliha Aydeniz, and HDP deputies Murat Sarısaç (three motions), Alican Önlü, Ömer Öcalan, Remziye Tosun, Sezai Temelli, Dersim Dağ, Imam Taşçıer, Feleknas Uca, Fatma Kurtulan and Sıddık Taş.

At least 4,000 HDP members are currently behind bars in Turkey, including a number of parliamentarians. In June, the Constitutional Court accepted an indictment calling for the closure of the HDP and requesting a political ban on 451 members and executives of the party, including the current co-chairs and all former and current parliamentarians and leaders, as well as the freezing of the party's bank accounts.